Weekly reflection for exhibition term 4 week 5

 

Exhibition was really tough but it was fun at the end. I got to express my thoughts and ideas with other people, my feeling about my issue and telling them possible action ideas. I think that I have  researched about homelessness thoroughly and I am now an expert in my topic. I think homelessness is a big issue and we need to do something to help.

 

I know what I am about to say is not to do with my topic but I have gotten inspired by Greta Thunberg and how she thinks about climate change. That has inspired me to raise awareness about homeless people and also people who are in need. Greta Thunberg has also inspired me to be the best I can be and make a change no matter how old I am.

 

Half of my information that I found out was from charities ( i.e Catherine house and Hutt Street Centre. We are now onto our taking action stage were we raise awareness about our issue. I have researched into the internet about activists for homelessness but there are not much. I have thought about it and if I educate more people about my issue we help people who have it.

 

Homelessness is an issue started by humans so that means humans can stop it. If we fight for this issue surely we can stop it. It all starts from putting posters up on schools, giving kind donations to homeless people or even telling ministers to help stop this issue. I have chose this issue because I used to see homeless people in the streets near my school and I would always see them with children. When I saw the children they were always crying and never stopping this was because they were hungry and thirsty but we are not doing anything about it. One day I saw a person kicking a homeless man and I thought that wasn’t very nice of them. The most important thing that worries me is lack of education and not knowing anything because they are not going to schools.

 

Main reasons of homelessness is loss of job. I feel that people who fire other people should be ashamed of themselves because that is mostly what causes this issue.

 

Drug and alcohol is the second main reason. Firstly why do people even start taking drugs or alcohol. That is because they are either depressed or sad. But when they take this drug they get addicted because it makes them happy because of Dopamine (the happy drug) that makes them take more and more drugs or alcohol.

 

The third most important reason is because they get abused at home. The leading cause of homelessness among women is domestic violence. People get homeless because of abuse because when they go home there husband or wife hits them an they don’t feel comfortable and happy so they try to run away. That makes them feel safe and the only place they feel lie they are at “home”.

 

Learning about homelessness has changed my perspective about things. Like how lucky we are to have cover over our heads and warmth from smooth blankets.  Also by how we have a proper education and given the ability to read and write. We should be grateful, we should not cry for something we don’t get. These things are silly wee don’t need to learn about wants and needs.

Exhibition reflection T4W5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *